Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Questions, comments, suggestions, and bug reports
Tyrence
Posts: 2007
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby Tyrence » Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:16 am

My first fix didn't fix it. So I'm going to try something else.
"Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigues of supporting it." — Thomas Paine
"Nearly all men stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." — Abraham Lincoln
Budabot Releases and Downloads: https://github.com/Budabot/Budabot/releases
eli
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby eli » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:35 pm

Maybe QuickEdit mode is enabled? I've seen some folks having issues with it randomly activating. If your title of the cmd window is "Select ......", it's what's causing the issue.

Right-click CMD title bar -> Properties -> Untick "QuickEdit mode", restart CMD (close window, open again, make sure it is diabled).

I don't know if it's available in Win 8, but ticking "legacy console"-option and restarting CMD might help as well. You don't need the new fancy features anyway, as most of them are just to conform the console with "modern" textual editor behaviors (selection, control of cursor with keyboard etc).
Tyrence
Posts: 2007
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby Tyrence » Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:54 pm

I believe that this is only an issue in 3.5_RC1 and not the previous versions but I appreciate the info. I will check that when I have a chance to make sure.
"Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigues of supporting it." — Thomas Paine
"Nearly all men stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." — Abraham Lincoln
Budabot Releases and Downloads: https://github.com/Budabot/Budabot/releases
Tyrence
Posts: 2007
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby Tyrence » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:37 am

I'm starting to think that Eli might be right and that the new windows console might be what's causing the issue. Can anyone try his suggestion and let me know if it fixes the problem? Try checking "Use legacy console" and then restart the bot, and then make sure it's still checked. If that doesn't fix it, then try UN-checking "QuickEdit".
"Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigues of supporting it." — Thomas Paine
"Nearly all men stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." — Abraham Lincoln
Budabot Releases and Downloads: https://github.com/Budabot/Budabot/releases
Tyrence
Posts: 2007
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby Tyrence » Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:08 am

Kista, after going back to the previous version, you don't get the error anymore on Windows 8.1, correct?
"Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigues of supporting it." — Thomas Paine
"Nearly all men stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." — Abraham Lincoln
Budabot Releases and Downloads: https://github.com/Budabot/Budabot/releases
eli
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby eli » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:20 pm

I had someone who was running Budabot on W10 (who's experiencing the same issue) test the legacy console option, as well as the QuickEdit mode disabled. It was the same issue after 1½ day, so not a possible solution.

I've asked him to test if it'll run with a terminal emulator, like cmder. Will report back if it's doable/fixes the issue.
Tyrence
Posts: 2007
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby Tyrence » Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:03 am

I have fixed this error. It involved going back to PHP 5.4, but I believe that the console freezing problem is fixed with that change. I will be releasing 3.5_RC2 soon so that you can verify it is fixed for all of you as well.
"Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom, must, like men, undergo the fatigues of supporting it." — Thomas Paine
"Nearly all men stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." — Abraham Lincoln
Budabot Releases and Downloads: https://github.com/Budabot/Budabot/releases
Kista
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:48 pm

Re: Issue with 3.5 RC 1

Postby Kista » Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:16 pm

oh awesome, sorry I got caught up in stuff and forgot to check back. And, to answer a previous question, I reverted back to the 3.4 version til you came up with a fix.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest